Continuing on the ideas of Lynch and other mapping techniques, the project I’m working on at the moment is a mapping along the Ann Arbor to Detroit rail line, aptly named The Wolverine.  I have chosen to look at view sheds and visual perspectives of the dichotomy between the built and open spaces within a 1/2 mi buffer of the line.  We shared our cognitive and spatial ideas for these maps on Wednesday, and it was really interesting to see what everyone is thinking about- we’ve got people looking at the train stops, the statistics of riders, vacant land, industrial use…its a neat array of interests, and I’m excited to see how they will play out visually.

What I’m thinking is a combination of ariel and panorama photographs along with a couple of GIS maps to display the built v. open tension in this area.  If I can manipulate the programs well enough, hopefully there will be color and shape coordination with the ariel map/photographs and the corresponding panoramas.  I guess I hope that the final product will show something interesting about the relationship of the two uses, and maybe the difference between how they appear from the train as opposed to on a map.  I also need to come up with a clever title and graphic scheme, so it would be excellent if I had a strong burst of creativity…

